Fun

My eye opening visit to the local library

wlandolakesI am in a book club and when I went to the bookstore recently they didn’t have my assigned book for May in stock.  I could easily go home and order it on Amazon but that meant waiting two whole days for it to arrive!  I wasn’t sure I could wait that long, I’m an immediate gratification kind of girl!  On my way home I decided to make an impulse trip to the Land O’ Lakes public library to look for the book, and boy have things changed.

I haven’t visited any library regularly since my children were young, I had no idea they offered so many things to do for adults and children.  They are currently holding a book sale offered by Friends of the Library.  Scheduled activities for the month of May include Yoga, Canasta and Mahjong sessions, reading time for all ages of children, and various club meetings.

But the coolest thing they have is the Foundry where they teach all kinds of fun activities, crafts and more.  These activities are geared towards older kids and adults.  Current classes include sewing, intro to knitting and crochet, making a pom pom rug and woodworking.

If you are looking for fun activities for the summer I urge you to check out your local library.  And yes, they did have the book I needed on the shelf.

Here is a link to the Land O’ Lakes library’s schedule, and I am sure your local library has similar offerings as well .  http://pascolibraries.evanced.info/signup/calendar?ag=&et=&lib=4

Kelly Harden Realtor®, GRI

Mihara & Associates, Inc.

813-244-9688

 

Leave a Reply

