Fun

Off to see the Wizard!

14192190_1199840533410168_6756804352492010967_n

The Tampa Theatre has a wonderful Summer Classics Movie Series where they show classic movies every Sunday afternoon in the summer at 3:00.  Yesterday I had the privilege of going to see the Wizard of Oz with a great group of women.

I cannot tell you how awesome it was to see such a classic movie up on the big screen!  I’ve only ever been able to view it on the television before.  The excitement is there just like it was when I was a child!

If you haven’t had been to the Tampa Theatre before I strongly encourage you to visit.  The theater is a non profit organization that always accepts donations.  They offer summer camp programs, rentals for weddings, corporate functions, shows and concerts, along with many other events.

The theater was designed and build by John Eberson and opened in 1926.  It is an example of his “atmospheric” style of design.  Here is a direct quote from the theater’s website- In a newspaper article that appeared on Tampa Theatre’s opening day, Eberson told of how Florida inspired his signature style: “I have been wintering in Florida for the past several years, and it is from this state that I got the atmospheric idea. I was impressed with the colorful scenes that greeted me at Miami, Palm Beach and Tampa. Visions of Italian gardens, Spanish patios, Persian shrines and French formal gardens flashed through my mind, and at once I directed my energies to carrying out these ideas.”  – Tampa Tribune, October 15, 1926.

And of course there is the Mighty Wurlitzer Theatre Organ, original to the theater, which adds to the classic old time feel as it plays before each performance.

Here is a link to their website if you are interested in learning more about the theater or want to attend one of their next events http://tampatheatre.org.  I hope you are able to schedule a visit soon, you will not be disappointed!

Kelly Harden REALTOR

CENTURY 21 Shaw Realty Group

(813)244-9688

Leave a Reply

