Fun

Volunteering in Your Community

I decided to start volunteering.  I’ve done it in the past, I’ve been a  Girl Scout leader while my daughter was growing up, a classroom volunteer, field trip volunteer and more.  But this is the first time since before my children were born that I’ve volunteered for an organization that didn’t benefit my children.

I researched various places online, checked with local groups who might need help and finally selected what I wanted to do.  I’m delivering food for Pasco county Meals on Wheels program.  Today was my first day, and I liked it!  I drove my husbands truck because there were three large coolers to hold the food and we weren’t sure they would fit in my car.  It turns out they will so I will take my car next time.  I had trouble finding one of the houses  because it wasn’t on my GPS but finally managed to figure it out (what did we do before GPS?).   I had trouble making a U-turn at one of the homes because I was driving the Silver Beast and the road was very narrow, but after an eight point turn I made it!   My last stop thought I wasn’t coming because I was a few minutes later than the last driver, but she was glad I showed up.  All in all not too bad of a day for Day 1.

I encourage everyone to volunteer when you can, it’s good for others and it’s good for you too!

Can’t wait until next week!

Kelly Harden, Realtor

CENTURY 21 Shaw Real Estate Group

Leave a Reply

